• SwishScribe
  • Posts
  • 2024/25 NBA Dynasty Startup- My first 5 picks

2024/25 NBA Dynasty Startup- My first 5 picks

Picking from 4th, recapping my first 5 picks in a startup dynasty league!

It’s that time of year again when startup dynasty leagues kick off, after summer league action!

This is a real cash league, 12 teams, H2H with many experienced players. In this article, I'll be recapping my first five picks in the draft, where I had the 4th overall selection.

4th Pick: Tyrese Haliburton

At the 4th spot, my main options were Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (SGA), Nikola Jokic, and Tyrese Haliburton. It was a close call between Haliburton and SGA. While SGA is an elite scorer with a well-rounded fantasy game, I chose Haliburton because he is two years younger and excels in a secondary category—assists. Additionally, SGA's steals could fluctuate in the coming years, making Haliburton a more stable pick for the long term, but this was truly a coin flip.

21st Pick: Evan Mobley

I was hoping to snag Cade Cunningham at this spot, but I was sniped one pick before mine on him! Despite that setback, I selected Evan Mobley over players like Jalen Johnson, Jalen Williams, and Jaren Jackson Jr. I believe Mobley has untapped potential, particularly in scoring, and could see increased time at the center position if Jarrett Allen is moved. This could elevate his game to the next level.

33rd Pick: Zion Williamson

Yes, Zion Williamson comes with his share of concerns—injuries, body type, defensive stats from college, and off-court issues. However, at the 33rd pick, his upside was too tempting to pass up. I believe he still has room to grow offensively, particularly in scoring and assists, and there's a chance his defensive prowess could return. I also considered Brandon Miller and Franz Wagner here, but Zion’s potential was the deciding factor.

40th Pick: Scoot Henderson

Scoot Henderson remains an elite prospect at only 20 years old (just four months older than Reed Sheppard). Securing assists early in the draft is crucial, and Scoot was going in the second or third rounds last year in similar startup leagues. I also considered Darius Garland and Amen Thompson here.

57th Pick: Josh Giddey

Reed Sheppard was taken just two picks before my turn, and the maverick in me might have picked him here. Instead, I opted for Josh Giddey. He’s poised to play more minutes in Chicago than last season’s 25 mpg and is still only 21 years old, entering his fourth NBA season. Giddey is younger than ex-teammates Chet Holmgren and Jalen Williams, who were drafted later. All eyes on Giddey as I follow the Boomers in the Olympics!

I’ll be covering more of this draft in future articles. Stay tuned, and I hope you enjoyed this recap!

Follow me on Twitter here.

-Karan